Media Releases from members of Sources.
To submit a news release, use this form.

Lieutenant Governor to Honour Award Winners from the National Ethnic Press and Media Council of Canada

October 7, 2009

Lieutenant Governor to Honour Award Winners
from the

The Honourable David C. Onley, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, will present awards on behalf of the National Ethnic Press and Media Council of Canada to 8 publisher/editors, 3 journalists and 12 individuals from the ethnic communities, who made significant long-term contributions to the ethnic press and communities of Canada.

The ceremony is scheduled for Monday, October 26, 2009
Time: 6:00 pm
Location: Lieutenant Governor′s Suite
Ontario Legislative Building
South (accessible) Entrance
(Media I.D will be required & must arrive by 5:30)
Queen′s Park, Toronto.

Directions: Filming and photos can be taken during the ceremony.

AWARD Recipients

Category: Distinguished Services

Hon. Margarett Best – Minister of Health Promotion
Sgt. Terry James – Human Rights/ Social Justice
Dr. Khoglan Hafizullah – Humanities/ Letters
Mrs. Rena Papathanacou – Media / Communications/ Community
Mr. Billy Balabanos – Humanities / Community Service
Mr. Shahram Tabe-Mohammadi – Sciences/ Humanities

Category: Journalists

Bahram Bahrami – For his Dedication in the Service of the Community
Ned Blair – Life Time Achievements in Photo-Journalism
Gerald V. Paul – For his struggles for Human Rights and Equality

Category: Individuals

Mr. Kamran Ahmadi Diversity / Arts
Ms. Lilac Cana Humanities / Performing Arts
Mrs. Irene Keroglides Human Rights/ Humanities /Social Justice
Mrs. Roula Mouratides Diversity/ Media / Humanities
Mrs. Ortansa Moraru Social Justice / Arts
Ms Raina Sen Editor-of-Tomorrow

Category: News Papers

Mrs. Susana Donan – El CentroAmericano – "Editorial and Visual Presentation"
Mr. Iosif Spataru – Semnalul – "Editorial Expression"
Mr. Suleyman Goven – Yeni Hayat – "Editorial and Free Expression"
Mr. Juri Baillargeon-Klugmann – Deutsche Rundschau – "Editorial and Visual Presentation"
Mr. Shaukat A. Malik – Pakistan Abroad – "Visual Presentation"
Mr. Teshome Woldeamanuel – TZTA – "Visual Presentation"
Mr. Srimal Abeyewardene – Sri Lankan Reporter – "Editorial content and Visual Presentation"
Mr. Christopher Magaoay – Shahrvand, On-Line – "Best On-Line Presentation"

For more information contact:
Thomas Saras
National Ethnic Press and Media Council of Canada
Phone: 416-921-8926

Subject Headings and Related Resources:

    Information and Media Resources from Sources
Main News Release page Media releases from clients of the Sources media relations service.
Sources Calendar Check out newsworthy events from across Canada.
Sources Directory Search the Sources directory of experts, contacts and media spokespersons. Find how to include yourself in Sources.
Publish your news releases Sources can help you distribute your media releases
Media Names & Numbers Directory of Canada's print and broadcast media.
Parliamentary Names & Numbers Full contact information for government, political parties, lobbyists, and embassies.

Sources home page