Fame & Fortune News Releases     RSS Sources Select News RSS Feed     Sources Calendar      

Alberta Book Awards

Deadline: December, annually

Eligibility: Open to authors from Alberta, or those who have lived in Alberta for at least 12 of the 18 months prior to the deadline.

Value: $1500 for five main categories. $700 for categories of short stories and essays.

The Writers' Guild of Alberta
Percy Page Centre, 11759 Groat Rd. N.W., 3rd Fl.
Edmonton, AB T5M 3K6
Phone: 780-422-8174
FAX: 780-422-2663
E-Mail: mail@writersguild.ab.ca
Website: http://www.writersguild.ab.ca

Description: The Alberta Literary Awards were created by the Writers' Guild of Alberta in 1982 to recognize excellence in writing by Alberta authors. Submissions are evaluated on originality, creativity, and quality of writing, as well as appropriate fit within a category. The categories are: Wilfrid Eggleston Award: Nonfiction. Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award: Drama. Stephan J. Stephansson Award: Poetry. Georges Bugnet Award: Fiction. R. Ross Annett Award: Children's Literature. Howard O'Hagan Award: Short Story. Jon Whyte Prize: Memorial Essay. Amber Bowerman Award: Memorial Travel Writing. James H. Gray Award: Short Nonfiction.

Subject Headings:

Sources is an online portal and directory for journalists, writers, news editors, researchers. Use Sources to find experts, media contacts, spokespersons, scientists, lobbyists, officials, speakers, university professors, researchers, newsmakers, CEOs, executive directors, media relations contacts, spokespeople, talk show guests, PR representatives, Canadian sources, story ideas, research studies, databases, universities, colleges, associations, businesses, government, research institutions, lobby groups, non-government organizations (NGOs), in Canada and internationally.
© Sources 1977-2019. The information provided is copyright and may not be reproduced in any form or by any means (whether electronic, mechanical or photographic), or stored in an electronic retrieval system, without written permission of the publisher. The content may not be resold, republished, or redistributed. Indexing and search applications by Ulli Diemer and Chris DeFreitas.