Media Releases from members of Sources.
To submit a news release, use this form.

Finalists announced for Award of Excellence for Comptrollership in the Public Sector

April 2, 2012

CMA Canada and CIPFA are pleased to announce the finalists for the 2012 Award of Excellence for Comptrollership in the Public Sector. The awards are given to a federal public servant or team that has made a significant contribution to financial management or comptrollership within the Government of Canada.

Each winning team member will receive an award, and the winning department or agency will receive a $1,000 donation for the charity or scholarship fund of its choice. The winners will be announced at a special ceremony to be held on May 8, 2012, at the Fairmont Château Laurier in Ottawa.

2012 Award of Excellence for Comptrollership in the Public Sector finalists:

• Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC) & Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) joint team nomination – AAFC nominees: Erna Burns, Design Team Advisor; Paul Drolet, Director, Financial Management Application; Gord Godfrey, Chief Technical Infrastructure; Angus Howieson, Director General, Application Development; Georgina Karlis, Interface Team Manager; Catherine West, SAP Security Manager. NRCan nominees: Mary Bond, Training and Technology Manager; Sylvie Letellier, Director General, Corporate Renewal Office; Michel Nault, Director Business Design; Nathalie Paradis, Project Delivery Manager; Marie-Claude Pilon, Design Team Manager; Marc Primeau, Director, Change Management; and Joanne Tubman, Conversion and Interfaces Manager.

• Canadian International Development Agency – Bassam Arida, Senior Financial Analyst; Luc B�langer, Director; Maxim Bellemare, Financial Analyst; Lynn Hogan, Manager; Angela Keller-Herzog, Manager; Alla Mozol Laporte, Senior Fiduciary Risk Advisor; Anh-Thi Maixuan, Senior Financial Analyst; Valérie Méthot, Audit Officer; Thuy-Lien On, Senior Audit Officer; Nicole Perron, Senior Financial Analyst; Éric Pétrin, Senior Audit Officer; Germaine Quevillon, Manager; Emilia Tihon, Senior Audit Officer; and Frédéric Vachon, Senior Audit Officer.

• Department of Justice Canada – Margaret DeMerchant, Manager, Project Management & Financial Community Development; Susan Hannah, Community Development Officer; Daniel Schnob, Chief Financial Officer; and Jameel Sumar, Financial Analyst.

• Group of Departments/Agencies – Yann Blais, Acting Director, Shared Financial System and Services Project, Public Works and Government Services Canada; Serge Gascon, Director General, Corporate Planning and Services Branch, Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada; Stéphane J. Guèvremont, Acting Director General, Shared Services Integration Sector, Public Works and Government Services Canada; Michel LeBlanc, Director, Finance and Administration Division, Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency; Doug Lloyd, Executive Director, Financial System Authority, Treasury Board of Canada; Thomas Pedersen, Special Advisor, Community of Federal Agencies, Library and Archives Canada; Mark Perlman, Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Finance and Administration Branch, Canada Revenue Agency; Daniel Plourde, Assistant Secretary, Canadian Intergovernmental Conference Secretariat; and Arun Thangaraj, Director General, Business Planning Resources Management and Systems, Canadian International Development Agency.

The selection committee, at its discretion in any given year, may also identify a recipient for a lifetime achievement award. This year, the committee determined that the CMA-CIPFA Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented at the dinner to Rod Monette, FCA, MBA, B.Sc., and former Comptroller General of Canada. Rod began his career in the Government of Canada in 1981, as a policy analyst in the Office of the Comptroller General. In following years, he held various positions in the former Indian Affairs and Northern Development Canada and in Western Economic Diversification Canada. In 1992 he was appointed to the level of Assistant Deputy Minister, and subsequently worked at Western Economic Diversification Canada, Revenue Canada, Environment Canada, Treasury Board Secretariat, Public Works and Government Services Canada, and the Department of National Defence. In 2007 he was appointed to the level of Deputy Minister, as Associate Deputy Minister of National Defence and then Comptroller General of Canada. As Comptroller General he was responsible for providing government-wide functional direction and assurance for financial management and internal audit, as well as supporting the professional development of the financial management and internal audit communities.

In addition, this year the committee will bestow a special posthumous lifetime achievement award to Ronald C. Thompson, FCA, B.Comm., former Assistant Auditor General and past Chair of the Canadian Comprehensive Audit Foundation (CCAF-FCVI). Ron had a long a distinguished career in the public service of Canada, serving with the Office of the Auditor General of Canada (OAG) for over 31 years. As Assistant Auditor General, he was responsible for the annual audit of the Government of Canada’s summary financial statements, as well as the audits for a number of federal departments including the Department of Finance and the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat. Ron accepted the position of Interim Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development in 2007 before his retirement from the OAG in 2008. He also managed the OAG’s International Relations Program and was involved with the International Organization of Supreme Audit Institutions (INTOSAI). Outside the OAG, Ron played a key role as founding chair of Statistics Canada?s Audit Committee and serving as a member of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants’ Public Sector Accounting Board. In 2002, he received the Queen’s Golden Jubilee medal for meritorious public service.

Tickets are now available for the reception, dinner and awards ceremony:

For more information contact:
Cindy Ruocco
Manager, Communications and Public Affairs
CMA Canada
Phone: 905-949-3116

Click here to view our Sources Listing:

Certified Management Accountants of Canada


    Information and Media Resources from Sources
Main News Release page Media releases from clients of the Sources media relations service.
Sources Calendar Check out newsworthy events from across Canada.
Sources Directory Search the Sources directory of experts, contacts and media spokespersons. Find how to include yourself in Sources.
Publish your news releases Sources can help you distribute your media releases
Media Names & Numbers Directory of Canada's print and broadcast media.
Parliamentary Names & Numbers Full contact information for government, political parties, lobbyists, and embassies.

Sources home page