Sources Directory     A to Z Index     Topic Index RSS Sources Select News RSS Feed     Sources Calendar      


Media Releases from members of Sources.
To submit a news release, use this form.

Lieutenant Governor to honour award winners from the National Ethnic Press and Media Council of Canada

November 12, 2013

The Honourable David C. Onley, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, will present the certificates and the medal of the National Ethnic Press and Media Council of Canada to 12 publisher/editors of Newspapers, 2 publishers of Magazines, 5 journalists, 6 broadcasters and 13 individuals from the ethnic communities, who made significant long-term contributions to the ethnic press and communities of Canada.

The ceremony is planned for Friday November 15, 2013
Time: 6:00 pm

Location: Lieutenant Governor’s Suite
Ontario Legislative Building
West Entrance (Media I.D will be required & must arrive by 6:00)
Queen’s Park, Toronto.

Directions: Filming and photos can be taken during the ceremony.

Category: Distinguish Services

Dr. Aimaq, Faizullah – Humanities/ Arts/ Community – (Afghan)
Ms. Bernice Carnegie – Humanities/ Community – (Afro-Canadian)
Ms. Sue, Chun – Community/ Culture/ Arts – (Korean)
Mr. Duranai-Khan, – Ahmed Shah Humanities / Community Service – (Afghan)
Ms. Barbara Pasternak – Humanities/ Philanthropy
Mr. Hu, Yuebing – Community Service/ Journalism – (Chinese)
Ms. Marlyne, King – Community / Education
Ms. Caroline, Mangosing – Culture/ Community/ Arts – (Philippino)
Hon. Marcelino Flor – Humanities/ Public Service/ Arts – (Philippino)
Mr. Raffi Der- Boghossian – Life Time Achievements – (Armenian)
Mr. Photis Sotiropoulos – Humanities/ Culture/Sports – (Greek)
Mr. Tewogbade Ojo Adeniran – Community/ Public Service – (Nigerian)
Mr. Demetrios J. Yantsoulis – Humanities/ Culture/Soc. Justice – (Greek)

Category: Journalists

(For Exceptional Services Rendered to Media Community)

Mr. Castellvi Enrique (Ricky) – For his Dedication to Media – (Filipino)
Mr. Charles, Devasagayam – For his struggles for Equality – (Tamil)
Mr. Aref Mohammadi – For his struggles for democracy – (Iranian)
Mr. Janusz, Niemczyk – For his services to Polish communities – (Polish)
Mr. Mulugeta, Zergaber – For his work as a photojournalist – (Eritrea)

Category: Magazines

Best Editorial and Visual Presentation
The Epoch Times Magazine – Cindy Gu – (Chinese)
The Assaha Magazine – Alshafar Saad – (Arabic)

Category: News Papers

(Distinguished Services for long years to community)
The Canadian Jewish News – (Mordechai Ben-Dat) – (Jewish)
The Korean Times (Daily) – ( Lawrence Kim) – (Korean)
The Deutsche Press – (Rolf Meyer) – (Austrian/German)
The Weekly Bagla Mail – (Shahidul Islam Mintu) – (Bengali)
The El CentroAmericano – (Susana Donan) – (Latino)
The Philippine Reporter – (Hermie Garcia) – (Filipino)
The Road News Media Group (Jaswal, Singh Jatinder) – (Sikh)
The Correio Da Manha – (Eduardo Vieira) (Portuguese)
The Sri Lanka Reporter – (Srimal Abeyewardene) – (Sri Lanka)
The Kanadian Punjabi Post – (Jagdish, Grewal – (Punjabi)
The Eesti Elu – (Estonian Life) – (Estonian)
The Yeni Hayat – (Suleyman Guven) – (Kurdish)

Category: Electronic Media

Mr. Ranjit, Wickramasinghe – Broadcaster TV – (Sri Lanka)
Dr. Khoda Khan, Ph.D. – Broadcaster TV – (Bagladeshi)
Ms. Luba Cherny – Broadcaster TV – (Russian)
Mr. Muhammed, Jurany Enad – Broadcaster TV – (Arabic)
Mr. Hassan Abdilahi – Broadcaster – Radio Ogaal R – (Somali)
Mr. Peter Galiatsos – Videographer and Broacaster TV – (Greek)

For more information contact:
Thomas S. Saras
National Ethnic Press and Media Council of Canada
Phone: 416-921-8926

Sources home page