Home | News Releases | Calendar | Getting Publicity | Media Lists | | Contact | Sources Select News RSS Feed |

The Marian Engel Award

The Marian Engel Award $15,000
Sponsored by the Honourable Hilary M. Weston

The Marian Engel Award was established by the Writers' Trust to honour the memory of one of Canada's most beloved and respected writers. Marian Engel won the Governor General's Literary Award for Fiction in 1976 for her novel, Bear, and was the first chair of the Writers' Union of Canada in 1973-74. The award is presented once a year to a female Canadian writer, not for a single book, but for a body of work and in anticipation of her future contribution to Canadian literature.


Previous Winners

2004 Dianne Warren
2003 Elisabeth Harvor
2002 Terry Griggs
2001 Elizabeth Hay
2000 Anita Rau Badami
1999 Janice Kulyk Keefer
1998 Sharon Butala
1997 Katherine Govier
1996 Barbara Gowdy
1995 Bonnie Burnard
1994 Jane Urquhart
1993 Sandra Birdsell
1992 Joan Barfoot
1991 Joan Clark
1990 Carol Shields
1989 Merna Summers
1988 Edna Alford
1987 Audrey Thomas
1986 Alice Munro

Copyright © Sources, All rights reserved.