Home | News Releases | Calendar | Getting Publicity | Media Lists | Governments | Contact | Sources Select News RSS Feed |

News Release

National Ethnic Press and Media Council of Canada
Conseil national de la presse et des medias ethniques du Canada

Canada's Other Voices

October 25, 2007

Toronto - On the occasion of the annual Ethno Press and Media of Canada, celebrations: the National Ethnic Press and Media Council of Canada will honour a variety of people and organizations from different walks of life and cultural backgrounds.

These recipients will include His Worship David Miller, mayor of Toronto, Mr. Don Wanagas, Director of Communications office of the Mayor, along with twelve individuals and twelve Ethnic media representatives.

The Honourable David C. Onley, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, will host the ceremony and present the awards, scheduled for Monday October 29, 2007 at 6:00 pm.
Attendance for the event is only by invitation.
Working members of the media are welcomed to attend and cover the event.

Thomas S. Saras
President NEPMCC

List of Award winners for 2007

His Worship David Miller, Mayor of Toronto (Hon. Chair)
Mr. Don Wanagas, Director of Communications (Hon. Board member)

Life time Achievements:
Mr. Dimitrios Aivalis, Toronto
Mr. Stefan Hresha, Montreal

Category Individuals:

Mrs. Mila, Astroga-Garcia "Human Rights/Social Justice Award"
Mr. Aris, Babikian " Human Rights/Social Justice Award"
Mr. John, Dagonas " Humanities/Community Service Award"
Mr. Jian, Ghomeshi "Diversity/ Arts" Award
Mr. Maxim, Grunin "Distinction in the Arts" Award
Mrs. Nashrin, Mirbagheri-Javanfar "Humanities/Community Service"
Mr. Roupen, Kouyoundjian "Community Service/Sports"
Dr. Dimitrios, Oreopoulos Prof. MD "Humanities/Science/Community"
Mr. Shahram, Saremi "Distinctive Achievements in Communications"
Mr. Raffi, Sarkissian " Leader of Tomorrow" Award
Mr. Ahmad, Reza Tabrizi "Humanities/Community/Business"
Dr. Mohammad, Tajdolati Ph.D "Humanities/Academia/Journalism"

Category Journalism:

Mr. Alexandre Franco Editor-In-Chief "Post Milenio"
Mr. Ahmad Shah, Hotaki Editor-In-Chief "Afghan Post"
Mr. Vincenzo (Enzo), Di Mauro Distinction in Journalism TV and Print
Mr. Arasaratnam, Kanaka Editor-In-Chief "Thamilar Sentamarai"
Mr. Kenty, Khan "Editorial and Free Expression"
Mrs. Kathy, L. L. Lin Editor-In-Chief " C. C. Times"
Mr. Farahazam, Taheri "Journalist of Distinction"
Mr. Mohsen Taghavi Editor-In-Chief "Salam Toronto"
Mrs. Maria Voutsinas "Human Rights/Diversity/Social Justice"
Mr. Tanas Yovanovski Editor-In-Chief "Makedonija"
Ms. Donya Ziaee Editor-of-Tomorrow
Mrs. Daniella Zhu "Free expression/ Human Rights

For more information please call:
Thomas S. Saras at 416- 921 4229 or 416-996 4229
Email: saras@nepmcc.ca
Web: www.nepmcc.ca

Toronto, Ontario, , Canada         Tel:
Copyright © Sources, All rights reserved.