Media Releases from members of Sources.
To submit a news release, use this form.

Order of Ontario appointments announced

January 15, 2009

Former Premier David Peterson, former Chief Justice Patrick LeSage, human rights activist George Brady, former Olympic figure skater Barbara Ann Scott-King, medical researcher Dr. Michael Baker and publisher Ellen Seligman are among the new appointees to the Order of Ontario.

The black tie investiture ceremony into the Order will take place at Queen's Park on January 22, 2009.

Named to the Order of Ontario are:

Dr. Michael Baker of Toronto, a leading researcher whose work has led to a better understanding of leukemia and other cancers.

George Brady of Toronto, a human rights advocate, public speaker and Auschwitz survivor, whose family story has been immortalized in the book Hana's Suitcase.

Jack Chiang of Kingston, a journalist and author who has engaged in extensive community service work.

Tony Dean of Toronto, who, as Secretary of the Cabinet, transformed the Ontario Public Service.

Mary Louise Dickson of Toronto, a lawyer, educator and advocate for people with disabilities.

Noel Edison of Elora, the conductor of the Elora Singers, a national professional Choir and the conductor of the Mendelssohn Choir.

Frank Fernandes of Toronto, a businessman and volunteer with organizations such as the Toronto Police Service and St. John Ambulance.

The Honourable Jean Robert Gauthier of Ottawa, for his work in community service and in particular for his work in advancing French-language education.

Heather Gibson of Milton, one of the foremost Canadian educators specializing in American Sign Language (ASL) Bilingual Education and ASL Language Arts Curriculum and the first linguistically and
culturally Deaf principal in Ontario.

Robert A. Gordon of Toronto, an educator and leader in the community college movement. He served as president of Humber College for 25 years.

Gordon Cecil Gray of Richmond Hill, businessman and philanthropist. His community service includes chairing fundraising campaigns that have raised millions of dollars for health care and education.

Susan Hoeg of Georgina Island for her community service contributions, particularly on behalf of the Chippewas of Georgina Island.

Claude Lamoureux of Toronto, a champion of ethical business practice, expert in financial services and former president and chief executive officer of the Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan.

The Honourable Patrick J. LeSage of Toronto, distinguished lawyer and former Chief Justice for the Ontario Superior Court of Justice.

Dr. Joe MacInnis of Toronto, internationally renowned physician, scientist and undersea explorer. His research made it possible to work in the deep ocean.

Dr. David H. MacLennan of Toronto for his contribution to the field of science. A biomedical scientist, he is an international expert in biochemistry, genetics and physiology of muscle function.

Lorna Marsden of Toronto, an administrator and former senator for her contribution to academia and public service.

The Honourable David Peterson of Toronto, a lawyer and former premier of Ontario recognized for his public service and community service contributions.

Ed Ratushny for his contributions to education and law. He is an expert on the Canadian judiciary.

Rosemary Sadlier of Toronto, an author and president of the Ontario Black History Society, for her contributions to literature and community service.

Dr. Fuad Sahin of Niagara-on-the-Lake, for his contributions to community service. He is the founder of the International Development and Relief Foundation.

Barbara Ann Scott-King of Florida, former Olympic figure skater, for her contributions to Canadian sport.

Ellen Seligman of Toronto for her contributions to publishing and her support of Canadian authors. Her books and authors have won recognition and prizes in Canada and abroad, including The Giller Prize and The Booker Prize.

Peter Guy Silverman of Toronto, for aiding thousands of people through his program Silverman Helps, the longest running advocacy program in Ontario.

David Smith of Ottawa, for his philanthropic contributions which have raised millions of dollars for charity.

Ted Szilva of Sudbury, the originator and developer of the Big Nickel Project, a world-famous tourist attraction that gives visitors the opportunity to learn about mining. He continues to be a community activist.

Mary Welsh of Brantford, being recognized for her 35 years of community and civic contributions.

Peter George, an appointee from 2007, will also be invested with his medal in the January 22 ceremony.


The Order of Ontario is the highest honour bestowed upon individuals by the province and recognizes excellence in any field of endeavour.

Nominations are made by members of the general public. The annual deadline for nominations is March 16.

An Advisory Council reviews the nominations, and makes recommendations to the Lieutenant Governor in Council regarding appointments to the Order.


For additional information on the Order of Ontario including how to nominate someone for the province's highest honour visit:

Disponible en français

For more information contact:
Colin Lemoine
Phone: 416-314-7010

Ms. Nanda Casucci-Byrne
Office of the Lieutenant Governor
Phone: 416) 325-7780

    Information and Media Resources from Sources
Main News Release page Media releases from clients of the Sources media relations service.
Sources Calendar Check out newsworthy events from across Canada.
Sources Directory Search the Sources directory of experts, contacts and media spokespersons. Find how to include yourself in Sources.
Publish your news releases Sources can help you distribute your media releases
Media Names & Numbers Directory of Canada's print and broadcast media.
Parliamentary Names & Numbers Full contact information for government, political parties, lobbyists, and embassies.

Sources home page