Home | News Releases | Calendar | Getting Publicity | Media Lists | Governments | Contact | Sources Select News RSS Feed |

News Release

Canadian Authors Association Announces Literary Awards Winners

May 13, 2008 - The Canadian Authors Association announced today the winners of its annual awards competition for literary works published in 2007.

Introduced in 1975, the CAA Literary Awards continue the association's long tradition of honouring Canadian writers who achieve excellence without sacrificing popular appeal. The five finalists were chosen from among over 300 nominations.

The 2008 CAA Literary Awards winners are as follows:

CAA/MOSAID Technologies, Inc. Award for Fiction
Paulette Jiles, Utopia, TX, for Stormy Weather
(HarperCollins Canada. ISBN: 9780002006040)
Prize: $2500 and a silver medal

CAA/Lela Common Award for Canadian History
Robert Wright, Toronto, for Three Nights in Havana
(HarperCollins Canada. ISBN: 9780002006262)
Prize: $2500 and a silver medal

CAA/Carol Bolt Award for Drama
Colleen Murphy, Toronto, for The December Man (l'homme de dÉcembre)
(Playwrights Canada Press. ISBN: 9780887545955)
Prize: $1000 and a silver medal

CAA Award for Poetry
Asa Boxer, Montreal, for The Mechanical Bird
VÉhicule Press. ISBN: 9781550652277)
(Prize: $1000 and a silver medal

In addition, the CAA administers a special award for Canadian writers under 30. This year's winner is:

CAA/BookTelevision Emerging Writer Award
Mark Haroun, Calgary, for an impressive body of recent work.
Prize: $500 and a silver medal

The awards winners will be presented with their prizes during a gala banquet at the Canadian Authors Association's annual CanWrite! Conference at the University of Alberta in Edmonton on Saturday, July 5, 2008. Each of the award winners will also be invited to read from their work at a special event, open to the public, at the university on the evening of Friday, July 4, 2008.

Sponsors for the CAA Literary Awards include MOSAID Technologies, Inc., the estate of Lela Florence Common, Playwrights Canada Press and Playwrights Guild of Canada, and BookTelevision.

Founded by Stephen Leacock and several other prominent Canadian writers in 1921, the Canadian Authors Association has continued to maintain a focus on "writers helping writers" since its inception. Some 25,000 writers have been members of the CAA in its 87-year history, including Bliss Carman, Nellie McClung and Robert W. Service.

In 1936, the CAA founded the Governor General's Literary Awards and managed them until asking the Canada Council to take over in 1960.


Author bios are available at

Media Contacts

Anita Purcell
CAA National co-Vice-President
Tel. 705.835.0716
Cell: 705.733.6824
AnitaPurc [at] aol.com

Alec McEachern
CAA National Director
Tel. 705.653.0323
Fax. 705.653.0593
Toll-free. 866.216.0622
admin [at] canauthors.org

National Office, 320 South Shores Road, PO Box 419 Campbellford ON K0L 1L0 - 1-866-216-6222

Click here to view our Sources Listing

Areas of expertise: 1055.htm" title='View other experts in "Arts, The"'>Arts, The - Arts Awards - Arts/Charitable Donations - Arts Conferences - Arts & Culture - Arts Literacy - Arts Organizations - Arts Service Organizations - Associations - Authors - 1185.htm" title='View other experts in "Authors' Associations"'>Authors' Associations - Canadian Authors - Canadian Literature - Censorship - 2576.htm" title='View other experts in "Children's Literature"'>Children's Literature - Contemporary Fiction - Copyright - Creative Writing - Freedom of Expression - Freedom of Information - Intellectual Property - Literacy - Literary Arts - Literary Awards - Literary Events - Literature - Writers - Writers/Canadian - Writers/Freelance - 16033.htm" title='View other experts in "Writers' Organizations"'>Writers' Organizations - 16034.htm" title='View other experts in "Writers' Support Services"'>Writers' Support Services - Writing - Writing Awards/Competitions - Writing/Entertainment - Writing Skills - Young Writers

Toronto, Ontario, , Canada         Tel:
Copyright © Sources, All rights reserved.