Sources Directory     A to Z Index     Topic Index RSS Sources Select News RSS Feed     Sources Calendar      


Media Releases from members of Sources.
To submit a news release, use this form.

Deadline extended for Award of Excellence for Comptrollership in the Public Sector nominations

February 8, 2012

OTTAWA, ON (January 24, 2012) -- The deadline to submit nominations for the Award of Excellence for Comptrollership in the Public Sector has been extended to February 17, 2012, at 11:59 p.m. EST. If you know an individual or a team that has made a significant contribution to financial management or comptrollership within the Government of Canada, then take this opportunity to recognize their hard work and nominate them for an award.

The annual program, presented by Certified Management Accountants of Canada (CMA Canada) and the Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy (CIPFA), includes awards for Innovation and Financial Leadership. This year two awards will be granted in the Innovation category, one for a large department or agency and one for a small department or agency. Consideration forms are also being accepted for the CMA-CIPFA Lifetime Achievement Award, which is awarded at the discretion of the selection committee.
All nominations may be submitted via email to until the last day of the nomination period. With the deadline quickly approaching, nominators are asked to submit their completed application form(s) as soon as possible.

The award recipients will be determined by a group of distinguished senior public servants and industry experts. The 2012 selection committee consists of:
? Monique Arnold - President, Financial Management Institute of Canada
? Jean-Pierre Blais - Assistant Secretary, Government Operations Sector, Treasury Board of Canada
? Richard Dicerni - Deputy Minister, Industry Canada
? Anne-Marie Gammon - Chief Financial Officer, Atlantis Systems Corp.
? Bruce Manion - Assistant Deputy Minister, Government of Canada
? Richard Monk - President & CEO, msight global inc.
? James Ralston - Comptroller General of Canada
? Joy Thomas - President and CEO, CMA Canada

This year?s award recipients will be announced at special ceremony to be held on May 8, 2012, at the Fairmont Ch�teau Laurier in Ottawa. The recipients will receive national recognition of their achievements and their innovations will serve as a model for how other public sector entities and individuals can enhance their financial management performance, and meet accountability objectives to the highest possible standards.

A limited number of tickets will be available for the reception, dinner and awards ceremony. Online registration will be made available in March.
For more information or to submit your nomination for the 2012 Award of Excellence for Comptrollership in the Public Sector, please visit:

For more information contact:
Cindy Ruocco
Manager Communications & Public Affairs
CMA Canada
Phone: 905-949-4200

Click here to view our Sources Listing:

Certified Management Accountants of Canada


Sources home page