Media Releases from members of Sources.
To submit a news release, use this form.

Finalists announced for second annual Award of Excellence for Comptrollership in the Public Sector

March 29, 2010

Certified Management Accountants of Canada (CMA Canada) and the U.K.-based Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy (CIPFA) are pleased to announce the selection of finalists for the second annual Award of Excellence for Comptrollership in the Public Sector.

The annual award, consisting of a plaque and a $1,000 donation to a charity or scholarship fund of the winner’s choice, is given to a federal public servant or team working in a government department or agency and making a significant contribution to financial management, and/or comptrollership within the Government of Canada.

The finalists for this year’s award ceremony, which will take place on Monday, May 10, 2010, at the Fairmont Château Laurier in Ottawa, are (in alphabetical order):

•Canada Revenue Agency: Michel Bernard, Deputy Chief Financial Officer and Director General, Financial Administration Directorate, Finance and Administration Branch; Mary-Lee Clarke, Manager, TCA-5970 Team, Internal Controls Division, Financial Administration Directorate, Finance and Administration Branch; Joan Reade, Director, Internal Controls Division, Financial Administration Directorate, Finance and Administration Branch.

•Canada Revenue Agency: David Blaney, Resource Management Analyst; Janique Caron, Director, Resource and Analysis Division; David Conabree, Manager; Jacquelyn Facette, Manager; Zhi Wei Feng, Resource Management Analyst; Michael Fowler, Manager; Fatmah Ghadban, Resource Management Project Leader; Martin Hébert, Secretariat Coordinator; Wendy Hillier, Senior Strategic Resource Analyst; Jane Mah, Special Advisor; Jeff Ogborne, Senior Strategic Resource Analyst; Pauline Saroufim, Resource Management Project Leader; Shaun Turner, Resource Management Project Leader.

•Industry Canada: Jeffrey Aris, Senior Financial Officer, Quality Assurance and Internal Control; Carl Boisvert, Manager Quality Assurance and Internal Control; Karen Cahill, Director General of Financial Operations and Systems; Deborah Guillas, Director, Financial Operations; Jennifer Russell, Financial Officer, Quality Assurance and Internal Control.

“We are very pleased with the attention this award has generated amongst public sector financial management professionals,” said Joy Thomas, MBA, C.Dir., CMA, FCMA, President and CEO of CMA Canada. “The high calibre of submissions received for the award reflects the importance of innovation and financial management within the Government of Canada.”

In addition to Ms. Thomas, the selection committee includes William Baker, Deputy Minister, Public Safety Canada; Richard Dicerni, Deputy Minister, Industry Canada; Richard Monk, Vice-President, WelchGroup Consulting; James Ralston, Comptroller General of Canada; and Michael Tinkler, Senior Director, Raymond Chabot Grant Thornton.

The selection committee, at its discretion in any given year, may also identify a recipient for a Lifetime Achievement Award. This year, the committee determined that the CMA-CIPFA Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented at the dinner to Paul J. Gauvin, FCMA. A native of Moncton, New Brunswick, Mr. Gauvin began his career as an accountant with Blue Cross/Blue Shield. Since that time, Mr. Gauvin has dedicated over 30 years to public service, in increasingly senior financial and program management positions, including in the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency where he served as Senior Vice President, Policy, Planning and Programs, as well as in some of the largest, most complex federal government departments, including Employment and Immigration Canada, Transport Canada, and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), where he served as the Chief Financial Officer. He was also the architect and Chief Government negotiator for the privatization of the Air Navigation System (NAVCAN). His most recent assignment was Special Advisor to the Commissioner of the RCMP. He is also a past President of the Financial Management Institute.

“Mr. Gauvin’s significant contributions to financial administration in the federal Government throughout his career and his exemplary leadership skills make him a worthy recipient of this honour,” said Steve Freer, Chief Executive of CIPFA.

Tickets are now available for the reception, dinner and award ceremony:

Date: Monday, May 10, 2010

5:30 p.m. Cocktail Reception
6:45 p.m. Dinner and Award Ceremony

Fairmont Château Laurier
1 Rideau Street (Ottawa, ON)

Featured Speakers:
Sheila Fraser - Auditor General of Canada
James Ralston - Comptroller General of Canada

Individual = $100 + GST
Table for 10 guests = $900 + GST

To Order:

Deadline: Monday, April 26, 2010

- 30 -

For more information contact:
Cindy Mantione
Communications Officer
CMA Canada
Phone: 1-800-263-7622 ext. 3116

Click here to view our Sources Listing:

Certified Management Accountants


    Information and Media Resources from Sources
Main News Release page Media releases from clients of the Sources media relations service.
Sources Calendar Check out newsworthy events from across Canada.
Sources Directory Search the Sources directory of experts, contacts and media spokespersons. Find how to include yourself in Sources.
Publish your news releases Sources can help you distribute your media releases
Media Names & Numbers Directory of Canada's print and broadcast media.
Parliamentary Names & Numbers Full contact information for government, political parties, lobbyists, and embassies.

Sources home page